Who signs up as a sharecropping family in 2010?

Nobody does.

Nobody does it intentionally.

They think it is impossible in a free society for modern day sharecropping to thrive in plain sight.

They learn, partially and too late, that the business risks are deeper and wider than they could ever imagine. Before WikidFranchise, no one has inventoried these investment risks. They blame themselves, miss the patterns and like in all well-structured con games 50% of the marks are good for a 2nd go.

He has the experience without the understanding. T.S. Eliot

– Thanks to ShawnBlog.com

3 Responses to Who signs up as a sharecropping family in 2010?

  1. Ray Borradale says:

    I failed first time around so now I have learnt my lesson. Because the boss told me where I went wrong.

    We are dealing with professionals so its not surprising the odd goose gets plucked twice.

  2. Les Stewart says:

    Ray,

    As part of the CDN personal and corporate bankruptcy process, the petitioner is required to have some credit counselling.

    My bankruptcy guy who is very, very busy servicing the Toronto, Ontario franchise market asked me: “Les, what would you have done differently to avoid bankruptcy?”

    I replied: “Not buy a franchise?”

    “Prefect answer. Your counselling sessions are now over,” is what he replied.

    I must add that the money I spent in bankruptcy protection was the best money I ever spent in franchising. About being 4 years out of the 6 year credit “netherland” (filed in 2000), I heartily recommend this option to franchisees.

    I have my health, sanity and marriage in tact and have watched as many others stick around and lose it all.

    Les

  3. Ray Borradale says:

    Ah those were the days. Except my bankruptcy lady was far too busy with franchises to be interested in the details having heard it all before. No counselling but there is a formality to keep checking for the hidden millions which even they didn’t take seriously. But hey it’s a job.

    At one point I had to get permission when it looked like I would have to go overseas for work. She just had to make sure I wasn’t taking my wife and I wasn’t a Christopher Skase: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Christopher_Skase

    I now have my wife and borrow her sanity while I get inundated by people intent on emulating our journeys. But like me and my wife; they don’t really understand where that bus came from when we thought we were on a pedestrian crossing. It takes a long time to get the gist of the game.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

