Investigating the bank (1)

IndustryI started working with two clients in 2005, Alex and Andrei Oudovikine. It was suggested to me that I take a look at what the Canadian franchise bankers were up to.

Bankers love it when governments guarantee small business loans but not for the reasons most people think but that is getting ahead of the story. Anyway…

I called Industry Canada about it and they suggested I write down my concerns because the Canada Small Business Financing Act was being reviewed. I did that and Predatory Lending, IC Feb 2005.

I waited and I waited.

After one full year (365 days), I called back to see if there were any questions. Within 3 days, I was in a meeting. He suggested I write a consulting Service Proposal. I did that and here it is.

I waited and I waited.

I called Industry Canada back. They wasn’t interested but, hey, he encouraged me to check back in 2011 when the next statutory law review would take place.

So it goes in franchising.

Leave a Reply

