McDonald’s and Ray Kroc

[Animated video no longer available. Too bad. Les March 12, 2010]

This song by Mark Knopfler is a very, very accurate representation of how Ray Kroc developed McDonald’s. This 5:42 video captures the dog eat dog, rat eat rat philosophy that I came to know so well.

I started at the local McDonald’s when I was 13 years old. In 1980 as a first assistant manager in Orillia, Ontario, I watched McDonald’s Canada take away my franchisee’s 3 stores. I went back to school.

It almost killed Ted.

competition?
send ’em south
if they’re gonna drown
put a hose in their mouth

do not pass ‘go’
go straight to hell
I smell that meat hook smell

Leave a Reply

