Symbols: The Maltese Cross

The Maltese cross is identified as the symbol of an order of Christian warriors known as the Knights Hospitaller.

The cross is eight-pointed and has the form of four “V”-shaped arms joined together at their tips, so that each arm has two points.

The arms of the cross are said to represent the 4 Cardinal Virtues (prudence, temperance, justice and fortitude). The eight points are said to symbolize the eight points of courage or the Beatitudes:

  1. Loyalty,
  2. Piety,
  3. Frankness,
  4. Bravery,
  5. Glory and honour,
  6. Contempt of death,
  7. Helpfulness towards the poor and the sick, and
  8. Respect for the church.

The Maltese cross shows up the Queensland, AU flag, St. John Ambulance, Order of the Bath, Royal Order of the Seraphim, firefighters and Columbian Squires (above). 


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: