I never knew that things exploded, I only found it out when I was down upon my knees

georgeharrisonoliviaharrisonIn 1999, George and Olivia Harrison were attacked by an intruder at their U.K. home.

His motivation was not known immediately but Harrison is quoted as saying to the attending physician:

…the man wasn’t a burglar but that he certainly wasn’t auditioning for the Traveling Wilburys“.

Wilbury mate Tom Petty sent a facsimile to Harrison soon after the attack, saying:

Bet you’re glad you married a Mexican girl.

After some time, local mental health professionals apologized publicly to the Harrisons for the:

…”significant failings” in the care of a schizophrenic who nearly killed him.

Hospital bosses accepted that they failed to “assess and manage” the mental health problems suffered by father-of-two Michael Abram.

Only a tiny fraction of mental health patients become violent: 99% of the time they’re only  a danger to themselves.

Stigma and fear are the greatest obstacles to any trauma.

From Harrison’s well-received  posthumously released 2002 album, Brainwashed.

Looking for My Life, George Harrison

Oh lord, won’t you listen to me now
Oh love, I got to get me back to you somehow
I never knew that life was loaded
I’d only hung around birds and bees
I never knew that things exploded
I only found it out when I was down upon my knees
Looking for my life, looking for my life

Oh boy, you’ve no idea what I’ve been through
Oh lord, I feel so stuck that I can’t get to you
Had no idea that I was heading
Toward a state of emergency
I had no fear where I was treading
I only found it out when I was down upon my knees
Looking for my life

Caught up on me with intensity
Had no idea where I was heading
I only found it out when I was down upon my knees
Looking for my life, looking for my life

Oh boys you’ve no idea what I’ve been through
Oh lord, I got to get back somehow to you

I never knew that life was loaded
I’d only hung around birds and bees
I never knew that things exploded
I only found it out when I was down upon my knees
Looking for my life

I never got any G.C.E.’s
I never knew that things exploded
I only found it out when I was down upon my knees
Looking for my life, looking for my life
Looking for my life, looking for my life

Leave a Reply

