Whoever seeks vengeance must dig two graves: one for his enemy and one for himself

2graves

There is an almost overwhelming human desire to see justice being done.

Oftentimes, we appoint ourselves, prosecutor, judge, jury and executioner.

I know that feeling. I felt that way when I lost my life savings and went bankrupt.

I would, however, caution anyone from acting out on that desire.

Death: A business failure is like a death.

It is a loss of who you thought you were. It is very worthwhile to mourn your loss as you would with someone’s physical death or a divorce. In 1969, Elisabeth Kübler-Ross wrote a book called On Death and Dying.

Kübler-Ross’s 5 stages are:

1. Denial: “Everything is just fine. This can’t be happening, not to me.”

2. Anger: “Why me? It’s not fair!”; “How can this happen to me?”; “Who is to blame?”

3. Bargaining: “If I just work harder, everything will be okay. One more year…”

4. Depression: “Why even try? If it weren’t for bad luck, I’d have no luck at all.” I am all alone.

5. Acceptance
: “It’s going to be okay.”; “I can’t fight it, I may as well prepare for it.”

My best advice: Go see your family doctor and keep him or her informed of what is happening in your life. At times, things can really sneak up on you.

Comments are closed.

